Ongoing project: Mirror Tell Me.

22 July 2015

In my recent series I extract the silver backings of old mirrors to expose the spirits of the mirrors. I start with the premise that the silver mirror backings have absorbed the energy of the people who looked into the mirrors and that, like old photographic silver processes, this “film” contains information that can be revealed.

During my residency at the MacDowell Colony some of the fellow residents offered to model for me. I photographed or filmed their images on the modulated surface of an old mirror’s silver transfer. I call this mirror transfer “The Seer” for its ability to create Rorschach images where many different characters emerged from each model’s performance.

For this project ”Mirror Tell Me” I created a context in which my role was simply to record the mirror transfer’s aesthetic. The material I have collected from these mirrors now serves as a basis to further develop the video and sculptural components of the work in an installation format.

 

 Still_To-Anna

 

Leave a Reply

